GraddieIcon

Choosing a college after 12th? Let’s make it make sense.

TAP HERE!

MEXT Scholarship to Study in Japan 2027-28: Eligibility, Dates, Stipend and How Indian Students Apply

✦ Summary

The MEXT (Japanese Government) Scholarship is a government-funded award that exempts tuition, provides round-trip airfare and pays a monthly stipend: for the 2027 batch, ¥143,000 to ¥145,000 for research students (about ₹83,100 to ₹85,300 at the embassy’s rate) and ¥117,000 for undergraduates (about ₹68,800). Indian applicants apply through the Embassy of Japan in India, usually in April and May of the year before they travel. The 2027 research and undergraduate deadlines were in May 2026 and have closed, so the next cycle (for 2028) is expected to open around April 2027. Confirm dates on the Embassy page before you plan.

books, diploma, academic cap, trophy cup and medal on wooden surface isolated on grey

Table of Contents

MEXT Scholarship at a Glance (2027 Batch, India)

Point

Research students

Undergraduate students

Deadline (India, 2027 batch)

15 May 2026 for the preliminary application

25 May 2026 at the New Delhi Embassy

Age

Under 35; born on or after 2 April 1992

Born on or after 2 April 2002

Marks

70% in bachelor’s or master’s (65% for humanities and social sciences)

80% in Grade 12 (or in Grade 10 plus a provisional document, if Grade 12 results are pending)

Monthly stipend

¥143,000 (preparatory), ¥144,000 (master’s), ¥145,000 (doctoral)

¥117,000

Tuition and airfare

Tuition exempted; round-trip airfare provided

Tuition exempted; round-trip airfare provided

Tests

Written exam and online interview

Written test and online interview

Source

Embassy of Japan in India

Embassy of Japan in India

 

These are the Embassy’s published terms for the 2027 batch. Rules and amounts can change for later batches, so use them as a guide for planning and check the next announcement.

What Is the MEXT Scholarship?

MEXT is Japan’s Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology. Its scholarship program brings international students to Japan for undergraduate, master’s and doctoral study and for research and training. The award exempts tuition, provides round-trip airfare and a monthly allowance. The Embassy’s pages state that no application fee is charged, and warn that anyone asking for fees or deposits has no relation with the Japanese Government (Embassy of Japan in India).

Also Read: Types of scholarships for international students

MEXT Scholarship Categories for Indian Students

Category

Level

Slots (India)

Application period shown

Source

Research Students

Master’s and doctoral research

To be announced

April to May (2027 batch: preliminary deadline 15 May 2026)

Embassy

Undergraduate Students

Bachelor’s degree

Not stated

April to May (2027 batch: 25 May 2026)

Embassy

College of Technology (KOSEN)

Associate degree (diploma)

12

23 April to 25 May 2026

Embassy

Specialized Training College

Certificate

12

23 April to 25 May 2026

Embassy

Japanese Studies

Certificate

6

December to January

Embassy

Teacher Training

Certificate

6

December to February

Embassy

Young Leaders’ Program

Master’s degree

A few

July to September

Embassy

 

The Embassy page does not list stipend amounts for the smaller categories, so check each category’s own page before you apply.

Eligibility Criteria

Research Students (Master’s and Doctoral)

  • Age: under 35; in principle born on or after 2 April 1992 for the 2027 batch.
  • Education: a bachelor’s degree in a relevant field with at least 70 percent marks for master’s or first-phase doctoral study (65 percent for humanities and social sciences); a master’s with at least 70 percent plus research, teaching or work experience for second-phase doctoral study.
  • Dates: degrees and mark sheets must be obtained on or before 30 September 2027.
  • Language: the Embassy page does not state a language requirement; check the application guidelines and your target university’s requirements.

Undergraduate Students

  • Age: born on or after 2 April 2002.
  • Marks: at least 80 percent in Grade 12 if you finished in 2026 or earlier; if results are pending, 80 percent in Grade 10 plus a provisional school document expecting above 80 percent in the 2027 board exams.
  • Japanese: Japanese language proficiency is preferred.

For all categories, applicants must be nationals of a country with diplomatic relations with Japan and meet the health requirement, and MEXT guidelines apply. See the Study in Japan application page for the guidelines.

Also Read: Motivation letter for scholarship

Stipend, Tuition and Airfare

Level

Monthly stipend (2027 batch)

Approx. in INR (Embassy rate)

Source

Research: preparatory education

¥143,000

₹83,100

Embassy

Research: master’s

¥144,000

₹84,700

Embassy

Research: doctoral

¥145,000

₹85,300

Embassy

Undergraduate

¥117,000

₹68,800

Embassy

 

Tuition is exempted and round-trip airfare is provided for both categories (Embassy of Japan in India). Stipend amounts are set by MEXT and can differ by year and by recommending institution: for example, Science Tokyo’s page lists ¥146,000, ¥147,000 and ¥148,000 for research, master’s and doctoral students and ¥120,000 for undergraduates (Science Tokyo). Confirm the exact amount in your award letter.

Housing is not described as a separate benefit in the pages we checked, so treat the monthly stipend as your allowance for living costs, including rent.

Also Read: Fully funded scholarships for Indian students

Application Process and Timeline (Research Students, 2027 Batch)

Step

What happens

Date for the 2027 batch

1. Preliminary application

Send the preliminary form (Word format, under 1 MB) by email to the Embassy

By 15 May 2026

2. Document screening

Embassy screens preliminary applications

May 2026, results in early June

3. Full application

Shortlisted applicants submit the application form, research plan, recommendation, health certificate and placement preference form

After shortlisting

4. Written examination

Subject-related written test

5 July 2026

5. Interview

Online interview

16 to 19 July 2026

6. MEXT final selection

MEXT and Japanese universities make the final decision

Results around January or February, arrival in April or October of the next year

 

The dates are from the Embassy’s page for the October 2027 batch (Embassy of Japan in India) and the schedule and arrival timing are described by Japanese embassy guidance (Embassy of Japan in Luxembourg). Undergraduate applicants had a written test on 20 June 2026 and an online interview on 22 June 2026; about 12 candidates passing the first screening go to MEXT’s worldwide final screening (Embassy).

Applications are submitted to the Japanese embassy or consulate, never directly to MEXT. The Embassy’s undergraduate page notes that email submissions are not accepted for that category and that you must post, courier or hand in your documents.

Embassy Recommendation vs University Recommendation

  • Embassy Recommendation: you apply through the Japanese embassy in your country, take its tests and, if selected, go to MEXT’s final screening. Undergraduates usually start with a one-year preparatory course; research students may have a Japanese language course after arrival.
  • University Recommendation: a Japanese university nominates its own students or applicants for a MEXT scholarship, and recipients must study at that university. You cannot hold both recommendations at the same time (Science Tokyo).

How to Improve Your Chances

  • Prepare early: the cycle opens around April and closes in May, so start gathering documents and recommendation letters at least six months before.
  • Build a strong research plan: research applicants submit a plan and a placement preference; contact potential supervisors in Japan early.
  • Keep your marks and certificates in order: minimum percentage rules are strict, and degree documents must be ready by the stated date.
  • Learn basic Japanese: it is not required for research students but helps; Japanese language proficiency is preferred for undergraduates.
  • Avoid agents that charge fees: the Embassy states that no application fee is charged.

Read our guides on how to secure scholarships for studying abroad and how to write a winning scholarship essay.

Related Articles

Need more funding options? Use GradRight University Selection to shortlist universities and the GradRight scholarships finder to find awards. If a scholarship does not cover everything, compare funding on the GradRight education loans page. Our mostly digital process connects you with 18+ lenders.

Tags:

Frequently Asked Questions

Is MEXT open for Indian students?

Yes. The Embassy of Japan in India accepts applications for several MEXT categories, including Research and Undergraduate. The 2027 batch deadlines were in May 2026, so the next cycle is expected to open around April 2027.

What is the age limit for MEXT?

For the 2027 batch, research students must be under 35 (born on or after 2 April 1992) and undergraduate applicants must be born on or after 2 April 2002. Limits can change each cycle.

How much is the MEXT stipend?

For the 2027 batch the Embassy lists ¥143,000 to ¥145,000 per month for research students and ¥117,000 for undergraduates, with tuition exempted and round-trip airfare provided. Amounts can differ by year and institution.

Do I need to know Japanese?

The Embassy’s research page does not state a language requirement, and undergraduate applicants are told Japanese proficiency is preferred. Some programs include Japanese language training, and your target university may have its own requirement.

Is IELTS compulsory for MEXT?

The Embassy pages we checked do not list an IELTS requirement. Check the application guidelines and your target university’s English requirements.

Can I work part-time on MEXT?

Students in Japan can generally work part-time with permission, up to 28 hours a week under Japanese immigration rules, but check your scholarship terms, your university and the Immigration Services Agency of Japan.

What are the marks required for MEXT research?

At least 70 percent in the relevant bachelor’s or master’s degree, and 65 percent for humanities and social sciences, for the 2027 batch.

Share

Trending

Backed by data, matched for you. Get your college shortlist from Graddie.
Shortlist Now

Provider

Title and Desc

HDFC

ICICI